Getting Through A Day

I am chronically ill.  That means I have an illness that doesn’t go away.  I don’t have the flu, or a cold.  I don’t just get better.  Sometimes I may do things like spending a day out with my kids, but the next week I may not be able to the same.

I have a collection of braces and supports.  I use these to keep myself walking and moving as much as possible.  Each day I take a large collection of pills and supplements.  I don’t do this because I enjoy taking medication.  I do this because I want to maintain my health as long as possible.

There is no magic cure.  No matter what people say about fad diets, salt lamps, meditation, yoga, vitamins, essential oils, or whatever else they are trying to sell there is nothing that will stop my illness from existing or being degenerative.  So I go to physical therapy twice a week.  I do my exercises every day, even though I am often exhausted.  I do cardio as often as I can.  I try to rest when I can (I’m a mother, it is hard).  I try to be forgiving of my body (also hard).  I use supportive wear.  I take my medication and supplements as directed by my medical team.

img_5185

Just a few of the things I need to get through a day, including my cup of coffee.

Leave a Reply

